Brigid Kemmerer

Elementals, book 1

Kensington

ISBN: 9780758272812

Reviewed by Tamara Felsinger

Do you remember the days before YA paranormals were big, and you actually enjoyed the genre?

No? This book isn’t for you.

Yes? That’s a different story.

I cringe at the thought of reading YA paranormals these days, but I couldn’t say no to this one. The plot sounded so similar to my first manuscript that I just had to see how the author did it. Now I’m so glad I had the chance to read Storm. While some of the YA clichés are still there, Storm has enough to help it stand out from the crowd. It felt like it was written by someone who actually remembered what it was like to be a teenager. It awoke the teen-fangurl in me, something not many other books have been able to claim. Plus there are five super hot guys in it.

My first clue this was going to be a different type of YA was that it was written in third person past tense. Thank goodness! Any more first person present and I was going to start throwing things.

The second clue was that part of the story is written from the guy’s point of view. And he’s not some hot mysterious smouldering love interest. He’s the youngest sibling, with four older brothers and a real, three-dimensional personality. In fact, all the characters in Storm had depth. Hooray!

Storm also deals with sex, swearing, and underage drinking in a frank, normal matter. It’s not the be-all, end-all. It is what it is, just like real life. However be warned that the book doesn’t just touch on the issues of sex and no-means-no, it punches it in the face. The main female character has some serious trauma from the beginning and deals with it properly at the end. I don’t want to give away what happens, but I do believe the author dealt with it honestly and (too) many girls will be able to relate.

Of course, I had some criticisms to the book, especially because the whole “powers” thing wasn’t explained as well as I would’ve hoped, but seeing there are at least still two more books in the series I’m not going to pick holes in that respect. The climax scene could have had a bit more BOOM to it, and questions arise as to why all of this is only happening to the main female character now – I would’ve picked the twist earlier if the foreshadowing was more solid – but these were my only nitpicks.

Honestly, if you enjoyed YA paranormal back before it saturated the market, you’ll enjoy this book. Give it a go and see what all the hype’s about.

EXTRA:

There’s a blog tour happening at the moment featuring fun interviews with the characters. You can find one of the interviews here, with links to the other blog hosts.

You can also download the prequel, Elemental, here at Amazon.