Kylie Chan

Journey to Wudang, Book 3

Harper Voyager (2011)

ISBN: 978-0-7322-8688-0

Reviewed by Mitenae

Emma continues looking after Wudang Mountain while John is gone but Kitty Kwok is still on the loose and undetectable copies have infiltrated Wudang. But something large and dangerous is coming just as John (Xuan Wu) begins to slowly retake human form.

Heaven to Wudang is the sixth book about Emma, John, Simone and Leo and although it’s supposed to be the final book of the second trilogy, it doesn’t come across that way. This is a story about a family and a world and it doesn’t lend itself well to being a trilogy (or a series of trilogies). This book feels incomplete and the ending doesn’t come across as the cliffhanger it should. It feels like it’s an instalment of a regular series, rather than the end of a trilogy.

I was pleased to see that in this book, my concerns with Emma’s tendency to be too unemotional (which I noted in my last review of this series) could partly be addressed in her storyline. But I will have to wait until the next trilogy to find out much this affects her.

I love the unique world Kylie Chan has created. The use of Chinese mythology has for me been intriguing and very different from other mythology-based fantasy novels. It’s her world that draws me to these stories and keeps me coming back. But I’m beginning to find the story a little drawn out. There’s always a demon that’s after them but six books into this story I’m edging closer to wanting the whole thing to be resolved sooner rather than later. I mostly enjoyed the story but at times I wanted to be able to skip ahead to find out how it ended.

I will be glad to see this series reach it’s conclusion but Heaven to Wudang, for me, didn’t conclude this trilogy the way I had hoped it would, despite enjoying reading about the world and the characters.