Oathbreaker: Assassin’s Apprentice

SR Vaught and JB Redmond

Random House (2009

ISBN: 978 1 86471981 9

Reviewed by Tehani Wessely

From a loving family and good prospects for the future, Aron of Brailing finds his destiny suddenly altered when he is taken in the Harvest by the Stone Guild, one of the two prevailing associations in his land; the one that trains assassins. Shocked and afraid, Aron soon discovers that his talents are somewhat different to what he had known, as he is thrust into a world unexpectedly at war. Can he learn to trust himself, and those who now surround him, and learn what he has the power to become?

This novel was an unanticipated jewel of a read – I had no real expectations when I began it, but it sucked me in from the first page, and didn’t spit me out until the last. And then I didn’t want it to end! With wonderful Young Adult appropriate themes, some dark action and strong writing, this book will hit a chord with male and female teens alike, and is well worth recommending. The characters are potent and varied, and I easily immersed myself in their actions and relationships.

A powerful and moving fantasy that hits all the right buttons for YA fantasy – a pleasure to read for teens and adults alike.