Nalini Singh

Slave to Sensation, Psy-Changeling Book 1 (2006)

ISBN: 978-0-5750-9566-3

Visions of Heat, Psy-changeling Book 2 (2007)


Caressed by Ice, Psy-Changeling Book 3 (2007)


Reviewed by Mitenae, August 2010.

Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series is sure to delight fans of paranormal romance.

In book one, Slave to Sensation, Psy Sascha Duncam – daughter of Council member Nikita – has been given her own project to head, but it means dealing with Changeling Lucas Hunter. As a Psy she’s supposed to be emotionless but she’s flawed and hiding it from everyone. Lucas has aroused her emotions far more than anyone should and it’s threatening to break her shields. What’s more, he’s suspicious. He knows there’s something different about her and with a serial killer on the loose hunting Changelings he’s not about to let it go.

Book two, Visions of Heat, begins not long after book one ends. Faith NightStar is an F-designation Psy. She can foresee the future but spends most of her time casting for the monetary benefits of whoever can pay her. At night, when she sleeps, Faith is disturbed by dark dreams she has no control over; it doesn’t mean much to her until her sister, Marine, is murdered. Then Faith realises that she’s seeing from the point of view of whoever killed Marine. But there’s someone else lurking around her compound who is inextricably drawn to Faith, as she will be drawn to him.

In book three, Caressed by Ice, Brenna has largely healed from her abduction and is having dark dreams. Like Faith, she thinks nothing of them until a wolf-Changeling is found dead, dumped in the den. It’s Judd Lauren, a Psy and former Arrow, who calms her down even as he remains ice cold. Brenna is attracted to him but Judd is more interested in his extra-curricular activities for the Ghost until she begins to wear him down. As he finds himself attracted to her, threatening to break all his control, someone is trying to turn Changeling pack against pack.

This series blends Psychics, who eschew emotions, and Changelings, who crave touch, in a lush green America, very different to the one you or I know. Nalini Singh has crafted a rich world, one that even I, not normally a fan of paranormal romance, can appreciate and be attracted to. I love the blend of the two – well, three, for it does include humans – species and how they’ve come to interact with each other.

The characters are flawed, and that’s not at all a bad thing for it makes them perfect for the world she’s crafted. They’re the sort of characters you want to find out what happens to and that is sure to make this series very addictive for many readers. And the good news is there are more books in this series:

  • Mine to Possess
  • Hostage to Pleasure
  • Branded by Fire
  • Blaze of Memory
  • Bonds of Justice, (July 2010) and,
  • Play of Passion (November 2010)

One final note: I wouldn’t recommend this book to very young fans of paranormal romance as there are sex scenes in each one and sex is a major theme of the series.