Karen Miller

Fisherman’s Children, Book 2

HarperVoyager (2010)

ISBN: 978-0-73222-8755-9

Reviewed by Mitenae, August 2010

It’s been five months since Rafel left and he’s been given up as lost, but Deenie knows he’s still alive and in trouble. Dreams of Rafel trouble her and after a devastating tremor she decides to go after her brother with Charis. To get to him first they must brave the whirlpools and get beyond the dragon’s teeth.

I’m very much a fan of Karen Miller’s work and have been reading her books for years. I found it took me a little while to get used to the style of some of the dialogue, mainly because it reminded me of Yoda. Although these scenes help the world building the dialogue also breaks the pace of the story.

I like the fact that this story develops Deenie further and sees her come out of her shell as well as showing us another side of Arlin. And this, for me at least, explained her choice of shifting from Asher to Rafel two thirds of the way through the first book, The Prodigal Mage.

Although I found that this book didn’t have the pace to rip me through the story it’s still very much an enjoyable read and I’m looking forward to seeing where she takes the final volume in this trilogy.